CLICK HERE FOR FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES, LINK BUTTONS AND MORE! »

Thursday, January 31, 2013

4 week review

Hello friends!
As I sit here recovering from my wisdom tooth extraction, with a mouth full of gauze...I thought "lets report on my January weight loss results!"  I mean...isn't that what most do after surgery? Lol. I think, at least for today, it might be my most exciting item.  So bear with me.

So....as I am officially 1/3 of the way through my challenge......drum roll please....

I lost an official 9.8lbs in January!  Hello Awesome town! 

I know that the next 8 weeks are going to be a little more rough, but super pumped with the results so far!  And, in case you are wondering, I haven't drank any crazy miracle drinks, haven't taken any miracle pills, no crazy diets. (Oh AND I went on vacation somewhere in there.). This is ALL eating right, watching portions and spending a little time at the gym (maybe like 3 or 4 days/week for 30-45 minutes).

Now, when I started this I had a goal in mind....and then a more "distant higher in the rafters" goal.  I am, as of today, 5.6 lbs from my first goal, and 10.6 from my second.  So yes, in fact, things are going to get more difficult.  But, I'm not giving up!  (Especially because I don't want to pay any more money for weigh-ins.

Welp, I'm off to take a nap!  Stay skinny my friends!

Rock chalk,
Jenna

Monday, January 28, 2013

BL update

Hey all!  I forgot to post results from the last two weeks of the biggest loser.  Drum roll please...

I had to weigh in early before we left for Vegas.  I was a little nervous, since I had one less day to lose.  But...I stepped in the scale and was shocked by the results.  4.6 down!!!!  I honestly don't know how I did it. But I will take it :)

Last Friday's weigh in was not so great.  I gained 0.8 lbs.  Took a little bit of wind out of my sails, but honestly, after spending 4 days in Vegas, this should be considered a win.  I'm just happy it wasn't more than that.  I can work with less than a pound...

I have still been taking pictures every week. Really excited about what week 12 will look like :) And, I have been working out really hard the last three days.  Started a running program about 3 weeks ago, and I'm really loving it.  Hoping for some good numbers this week!  However, as I get closer to my goal, there is about zero room for error.  Wish me luck!

Rock Chalk!
Jenna

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Rockin and Chalkin!

Hello fellow Jayhawks! 

What an awesome game tonight!  Big win in Allen Fieldhouse West!  (hehe.). I was a little nervous for this game, seeing as the last few games have been too close for comfort.  But my team pulled through!  Making it a little easier to face all the kstate fans tomorrow at work. :)

And, while I truly appreciate the classiness of kstate fans chanting "f* ku" with 3 minutes left in the game (maybe in desperation), they gave it a good effort.  I mean a single digit loss to the #3 team in college basketball... shouldn't be anything to be ashamed of.  Oh rivalries....you are so fun.

I'm sure the win will be discounted by almost every one of my coworkers (because it always is), you don't get to #3 by a few bad calls or missed opponent shots.  Refs don't win games, players do...with endless hours of practice and preparation for each game...and a ton of guidance from their coaches.  So say what you want, but tonight I proudly say "Rock Chalk"!!!

Jenna

Monday, January 21, 2013

And we're back!

Even though what happens in Vegas is supposed to stay in Vegas... a little recap of our awesome weekend celebrating Josh's big 2-1!

None of us get to retire early...shucks :) But we did walk away with some awesome memories! The first night we got in we stayed out until 3:30 am. Something about Vegas makes you lose all sense of time....maybe its the lights, maybe it's all the excitement. My luck was just starting to warm up when I decided it was probably a good idea to at least get some sleep...seeing as we had been up almost 24 hrs ;)

We stayed at Planet Hollywood and Harrah's. It was fun to stay at a couple different places we have never stayed before. Maybe our next adventure there will allow us to experience a couple more. Who knows ;)

We got to do a little shopping, a lot of exploring, got to see a TON of interesting folks. I know that anything goes in Vegas, but honestly some people need to purchase a mirror, lol. It's a good thing that beer googles exist....and lets just leave it at that :)

I think we managed to hit up almost every casino on the strip. And I think we may have walked about 15 miles. Everything is so close until you start walking. We had beautiful weather while we were there. It was quite the change from 60 degrees to 32 degree when we landed in Wichita last night. I should have brought the weather as my carry on, lol.

Now we are trying to adjust our internal clock back to central time. Hopefully I can get this fixed soon, or it's going to be a long week at work.

And now we start another countdown, this one a bit less desirable than a trip to Sin City....10 days until my wisdom teeth come out. ugh.

Rock Chalk!
Jenna

P.S. The last photo is Jay with Stephanie and Kris from the show Sons of Guns. He was beaming afterwards, because it is one of his favorite shows.









Monday, January 14, 2013

Hey Vegas....see ya in 72?!

That's right folks, the hourly countdown has begun. It's time for our almost annual trip to Vegas. And WE. ARE. PUMPED. Pumped to celebrate the 21st year of my, at one point "baby", cousin Josh! Woot Woot! And even though he has grown up, and is now physically larger than I am, I will totally step up to the plate and lug him down the strip if duty calls. I mean, after all, I did carry him around approx 19 years ago...I've got experience. he he. After this trip, it will be 9 LONG years before we get to go back to celebrate a 21st birthday...Start saving Mr. Kayden!

I have been dealing with year end close at work for the last two weeks, so this weekend has definitely been something to look forward to. (I mean....account review vs. gambling in LV...easy win for LV). And while I am the lone female on this adventure (Kellie, it's not to late to fly in from the 'bodia, lol), I know we are going to have the best time. My inner night owl will be making a debut come Thursday evening.

So here is to lots of luck, a little booze, and a splendid great time! Cheers!

Rock Chalk,
Jenna

Friday, January 11, 2013

Biggest Loser Update

Well, week 1 results are in....and....my team came in first! Losing a total of 21.1 pounds!!!  Woot woot!  Go team mission: slimpossible!

I lost a total of 2.6.  Not too shabby!  Since I was in the winning team, I won  a $5 subway card and I may have already put it to use :). I mean, a win deserves a celebration, right?!?!

I also celebrated by drinking half a diet dr pepper and jay made some popcorn.  I haven't had anything but water and sugar free water mixers in over a week.    I never thought I would say this, but that pop was very sweet.  I couldn't even drink it all.  Its crazy how quickly your taste buds adjust. 

My celebrating was short lived, and now I am focusing on week 2.  I have to weigh in a day early, (since we leave for Vegas Thursday)  so I am going to have to do some major gym work this week.  Game face on.

Hope you all had a great Friday! 

Rock chalk!
Jenna

Sunday, January 6, 2013

Kitty Thanks

I am big into "Thank You's". It's huge. I never ever want to receive anything, and the giver not know how much I appreciate their kindness and thoughtfulness. I know that whatever they did for me, they didn't have to, but chose to anyways. So, even though some people think its old-fashioned, I send them. Every. Time. (And for the record, I don't think appreciation goes out of style :) lol)

This is 100% inherited from/taught by my Mother. What can I say, I get it honest. It's almost to the point that when I get a "Thank You" I want to write them back..."Thank you for sending me such a nice thank you". Yeah, I really have had impulses to do that before :)

So, anyways...as I am finishing up Thank You's tonight for Christmas, I made sure that Benjamin & Otis got in on the action. I mean after all, they received a gift or two and have been enjoying them to the fullest. :)

Sunday...uh...Funday

Well, its come again...the weekend wind down.  It always feels like about the time it gets going, its over. I have a busy week at work coming up, so I am really not looking forward to tomorrow.

The only 3 productive things I have done today...  1. Watched a Jayhawk victory 2. Got a few groceries and 3. took down my Christmas decor.  (My house looks bare again.  Sad. Face.).

I had really big plans for today.  My house was going to be spotless.  (That might still happen, but as time ticks on, more unlikely).  I have a workout to complete.  (Will happen once my dinner settles).  I need to finish Christmas thank yous (usually I would have them done wayyy before now).  I was going to make my lunches for the week (highly unlikely).  And last, I was going to catch up in some Glee episodes (have recently become a big fan of that show).  I guess there is always tomorrow.  

Oh and an update on my Biggest Loser Challenge.  So far, so great!  I am down 6lbs since January 1.  (3.6 officially for the challenge, since I just weighed in Friday a.m.).  Jay is down 1lb.  As anticipated, he is having a little trouble finding some diet food that he loves (he can thank his extremely picky palette). He also is working with a knee injury that he will have surgery on the beginning of February.  But, a loss is still a loss!  The journey continues....



Rock Chalk,
Jenna

Friday, January 4, 2013

Mission: Slim-possible

New Year, New You. Mission: Slim-possible.

It's officially began!!! The Biggest Loser Challenge at work has started. My first weigh-in was this morning...and it's been celery sticks ever since (lol, kidding!!) I am pretty excited about it...And so is my competitive nature.

Gosh, I love a good challenge. And the fact that people don't think I have much to lose, or question that I will be able to lose anything, is all the more motivation for me. (Watch me blow your numbers out of the water!)

I realize I don't have as much to lose as others, but I still want to tone up, and thin down a bit. Nothing extreme. At my biggest point I was 20 lbs heavier than I am right now, and my skinniest point (in the last 5, or so, years) is about 10 lbs away. Totally within reach! Maybe I'll even set a new low!

I am on a team with 3 other future skinny-minnies (well...two are "mickeys"). We officially have 11 weeks and 6 days to go, with 12 more weekly weigh-ins. And not to sound over-confident, but we are probably going to win. LOL.

Jay is actually un-officially participating. His official weigh-ins occur at home. :) But he has been working out with me and tracking his food. Big steps for a boy who could easily live off of Taco Bell and Sonic. :)

And, as a fun way to track our progress over the next 12 weeks, we both took pictures in our swimwear last night. We are going to be taking pictures each week so we can look back at our changes. I am really looking forward to looking at all twelve pictures side-by-side. The way I see it is... we just started working on our beach bod a little early ( I mean hey....Myrtle is only 6 months away!)

Here's to a skinny 2013!

Rock Chalk,
Jenna




New Specs

Well, after 27 years, Jay finally is starting to feel his age a bit. (And so begins his middle age decline. :) lol. JK!) Today he had to go pick up, and get fitted for, his first grown up pair of prescription glasses.

Such a handsome guy he is. And in the word of my famous Grandpa Oscar "such a gentleman and a scholar" :) lol

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Hello 2013 :)

While Jay and I sit here, enjoying the first day of 2013, we have to thank 2012 for so much. And so...some highlights:

Welp, we got married this year. :) We will give that the number one highlight spot, for obvious reasons. What a splendid time! We are still very thankful for everyone who assisted, organized, attended, sent well wishes, was with us in spirit, or rocked the dance floor. You made our day. Literally :)

We had our first trip out of the country to the beautiful (and highly recommended) Dominican Republic. Which also required our very first passport. Maybe 2013 will require a passport as well :)

We got a new sister, Miss Kara. Growing like a weed, and so full of life. And while mentioning new family members, we also got a new B-I-L, John :)

Attendance to the KU vs KSU game in Allen Field House, the best venue for basketball, with a Jayhawk victory, of course.

I conquered three wedding cakes in one month, while still having a full time job. :) My cake count for 2012 was roughly 24 (some weddings, baby showers, birthdays). Not bad, considering I didn't really start taking many orders this year until after the wedding craziness was over in June. I can't even begin to count cupcakes or cookies, so I'm not going to try :)

Jay sold off his truck and got a car. Hello amazing MPG's.

Got our basement carpeted and furnished. The last piece to our basement finishing.


I'm sure I have forgot some items, but hopefully that's most of it! 2013 is going to bring a Vegas trip, a Biggest Loser Challenge, and Lord knows what else. Here is to a wonderful 2013. Here is how ours is beginning. Cheers!