CLICK HERE FOR FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES, LINK BUTTONS AND MORE! »

Thursday, August 29, 2013

First Purchase: Hippo

Today, we received in our very first "Baby Corbie"purchase.  (The first of probably hundreds, lol). Ladies and gentleman:  Hippo.


One of my favorite movies of all time is Raising Hellen.  If you are not familiar with that movie, Abigail Breslin's character has a stuffed animal named "Hippo". And, one of my favorite parts of that entire movie is Hippo's Birthday.  Makes my heart smile.  Check it out :)


Now we have our very own Hippo!

Until next time!
Jay, Jenna and "Baby Corbie"

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Week 12 - Expect the Unexpected

So I'm going to go ahead and combine some items from week 11 with week 12. Since week 11 was so eventful, I guess it can share :)

We got our carpet in last week and almost have the house back together.  We cleaned out the guest room which will become a nursery. So really we just have a few items to find new homes for and everything will be good to go.  

My brother has an interview in KS this week, yay!  So since the company flew him in to interview, he surprised my mom and dad with a visit.  They were so surprised!  We drove down here to see him as well.  

Which leads me to the last (hopefully last) surprise of the week, Jay had to have a root canal Saturday before we made our trip to GB.  Surprise!  After not sleeping for like 2 days, we found a dentist on a Saturday.  So after icing it all Saturday and Sunday, the swelling just would not go down. On Sunday, we got to make a trip to urgent care, just to be on the safe side.  A prescription later, we headed home to Wichita.  Well....things started to take a turn for the worse.  An ER visit, 2 trips to the dentist and 4 prescriptions later, we are finally on the mend.  I was really starting to wonder after the 4th visit to a medical facility...

Which leads me to today.  We made our way back to the doctor to hear the heartbeat.  Everything is looking great!  The heartbeat was a healthy 161.  We will go back in 4 weeks, then about 2 weeks after that, we will get to determine if Baby Corbie is a baby boy or girl!  Based on what they told us today, we should be finding out somewhere between Oct 7-15th.  At this point, my guess is girl, Jay's guess is boy.  (For the record, Jay's first response was boy because "he was choosing the opposite".  Who knows what his real hunch is, I guess one of us will be right :) )

So, today the surprise isn't on us (thank goodness), but for everyone else.  It's finally time to share our news!  Thanks to Shanadi for swinging by to snap a couple shots!




Love,
Jay, Jenna and Baby Corbie




Week 11 - Bonjour!

Hello, hello!

Welp, week 11...and unfortunately it's the same as the weeks past. I do pretty good for a couple days and then I have a couple bad days.  Oh well, i'll just keep my eye on the prize.

On unrelated baby news, I have started learning French.  (thanks Kels!)  Why French?  Well, at work we do business in Canada...and in Quebec, they refuse to speak English.  (Which makes it a pain to send them money for taxes, or ask questions about taxes)  So, why not?!  Due to my previous experience with learning Spanish, it's actually been pretty easy so far.  

Also, unrelated baby news, we got new carpet this week.  Which ultimately means we get to move out, and then move back in within two days.  It looks fantastic though, and I can actually vacuum it without struggle.  It's the little things in life.  That also created a perfect opportunity to clean out a guest room for a new babe. :)  Can't wait to start with nursery decor!

Other than that, same 'ole around here.  Next Monday is doctor time, then we can share our news with everyone!  yay!


Week 10 - Double Digits

Double digits, folks.... 10 weeks!  Which means 2 more weeks until we head back to the doctor! (And get to share our news with everyone!!)

We have some really greats friends that have helped us celebrate our great news over the last couple weeks.  My friend Tara has hooked a girl up!  This product was highly recommended by her friends, who swear by it.  This little miracle in a bottle is sure to help me snap back into my beach bod, post-babe! (Well that...and a few hundred hours in the gym) I started using this a couple of days ago, and I have to say... It's pretty great, very relaxing.  Thanks, Tara!

On to other news, I finally felt good enough to make my way to the gym.  Yay!  I have really missed it.  I feel a lot better about myself after I go, even if its just for 30 minutes.  I have had a ton more energy this evening, as well.  Everyone says your pregnancy and delivery goes a lot smoother for those who exercise during their pregnancy.  My morning sickness had limited me from making it over the last 4 weeks (let's be real, nausea and moving don't mix)  Here's to hoping I can go again tomorrow.

I have a busy weekend planned, with trips to Argonia, GB, Hays and some pictures potentially on Sunday.  Wish me luck!

Love, 
Jay, Jenna and Baby Corbie

Week 9 - Sick, but not sick

Week 9 got off to a wonderful start, morning sickness.  At this point I shouldn't be surprised really, but just as I thought it might be leaving me, it just HAD to prove me wrong.  It was the first time that it was bad enough to keep me from work.  So I got the joy of working from my bed (which can be more work than working from my desk).  If I thought I could have moved around without revealing the inner workings of my stomach, I would have made my way in.  Oooooohhhhh the joys.

So made my way back to work on Tuesday.  Of course everyone thinks I'm carrying something contagious.  (No guys, you can't catch morning sickness, calm down, lol)  I feel a million times better than I did on Monday.  Thank goodness.  Hopefully I have got that all out my system for the week.

We head back to the doctor in 20 days to hear the heartbeat!  yay!


Love,
Jay, Jenna and Baby Corbie

Week 8 - The Appointment

Well, well!  Hello 8 weeks!

This week we got to meet with our doctor.  After a lot of research online (since we didn't want to tell ANYONE until after we had seen a doctor) we decided to go to the Center for Women's Health and see Dr. Taylor.  

I got poked, prodded and questioned :). Honestly, it wasn't all that bad.  Had to get a pap (ugh...), piss test, blood work, blood pressure, etc.  I was glad Jay was there just to see what us ladies have to go through on a regular basis, lol.  We were there for about and hour and a half (a little less than half of that time was probably spent just waiting in between processes).  We left with a bag full of prenatal vitamin samples, got some dinner and headed home to finally share our news. 

A couple weeks ago I had done a lot of research online on different reveals.  I stumbled across one that was a magazine cover.  ("Perfect!  I hadn't seen one like that yet!") Since I am fairly handy in photoshop, I decided to duplicate it for us.  A few hours later it was all ready to go.



So, when we arrived home we decided to email the photo to all of our parents at the same time.  We sent it and then I think the comment was made "wonder how long it will take for our phones to start to ring".  Well, apparently not long, lol.  My dad was the first to discover it and was calling me within 5 minutes.  Jay's Dad's crew discovered it next, and then Jay's Mom.  It was so funny hearing everyone's reactions (we had to explain to my dad that we, in fact, were not really in a magazine, lol). My mom had been working later, getting ready to start school, so she was the last parental to find out.  She probably had the best reaction telling Jay they could get together to work out a babysitting schedule, and that she was so excited she might not sleep. (Oohhhhh, mom :) )

So once the parents knew, next step was our very close friends, and some more close family.  We wanted to wait until all our parents knew, so once my mom found out, then we started sending out our picture to others :)  If anyone is having a child, may I suggest a similar move when revealing.  Jay and I really had the best time sending it and seeing how long it would take to get a phone call.

I sent my two very best friends the photo via a group text message.  (That way they got to find out at the very same time). Well Miss Shanadi broke every record in the book, because I hit send and she was literally calling me 10 seconds later.  I wasn't even sure she had time to see the picture.  I'd venture to say she is pretty excited! When I chatted with Tiff, (after her "Shut Your Mouth!!" Text) she said she was convinced I was never going to have a child.

We also got a surprise the next day, when someone did some breaking and entering to leave us this (thanks Shan!):


So we are done with announcements for a few weeks.  We hit up the doctor at the end of the month and get to do our first sono.  After that, we will let everyone know :)

Until next time!
Jay, Jenna and Baby Corbie 

Week 7 - The Sickness

Helllloooo morning sickness.   Ugh.  I hate feeling nauseous, and I honestly feel that way 50% of the day.  I spent last weekend on the couch, like all....weekend....long.   I come home from work and immediately lay down.  And I'm kinda a busy body, so thats pretty much working out for me (extreme sarcasm).  I don't feel like doing ANYTHING nor do I have the energy.

I have made a discovery of some food that does make me feel better:  cheese breadsticks.  At this point it's the first thing that I can eat where I feel normal afterwards.  Also, after doing some research online (desperate times, my friends) I have started taking my prenatal vitamins at night.  I don't know if its related, but I haven't been sleeping well, so I guess I'm just in training for March! (one last piece of knowledge, my morning sickness should be gone by the 14th week.  What's that, only a month and a half more?!?! Oh yay!)

I made my first appointment today, and will visit the doctor in a week and a half, August 1st.  My biggest concern at this point is that I will have twins.  My mother being a twin only increases my chances. I think if I would have twins I might be done having children :). I will also be informing my mother that if I do have twins, she will be taking early retirement to "take care of" what she has created.  Lol

Then after that, Jay and I are trying to think of some fun way to announce.  We wanted to make sure we went to the doctor and everything was alright before we let everyone know, starting with our family.  So here's to some creative ideas for a fun announcement!

Love, 
Jay, Jenna and "Baby Corbie"

Week 6 - The Exhaustion

And so the fun symptoms have begun...

I am completely exhausted.  Like not sure if I can hold my eyes open at 2pm.  I have had some occasional nausea, but nothing constant.  I also completely stopped drinking pop over the last week, so I have had a caffeine headache.  I have gone to sleep earlier over the last 3 days, than I have probably in the last 13 years.  I feel bloated, but probably because I haven't had the energy to work out.  

At this point I have invested in a lot of bottled water and some caffeine free pop (what's the point, right?!? Yeah, I know). I feel like I eat more, because I am searching for energy from anything!  Here's to more energy next week.

Here is how I have spent most my week with my first born, Benjamin.  She is a very good caregiver :)



Love,
Jay, Jenna and "Baby Corbie"

Week 5 - The Beach

So, since everyone is different, I wasn't quite sure when I would start getting symptoms, or if I would.  Here are my 5 week findings:

I know it is still pretty early, but the only thing I notice is sometime I am way out of breathe (and I work out frequently, so it's not a matter that).  Its not constant, just random.  I ran a 5k up the beach and was fine. I would love for someone to explain why I can run 3 miles and be fine, and then be winded pulling my rolling suitcase through the airport.  Baffled, I tell ya. Other than that, I can't eat that much before I am full.  I usually eat like a little bird, snacking throughout my day, but this is to a whole new extreme.  Literally half a sandwich and I am stuffed.  

That's it for now, I'm sure there will be plenty more to come.  Here I am at 5 weeks, still rocking a 2 piece, but not for long  :)



Love, 
Jay, Jenna and "Baby Corbie"

Week 4 - The Discovery

So, lets share the story on how we made the discovery we were expecting.

We had decided back in April that we were both ready to have children.  As I am sure some of you can attest, we decided a long time ago we would wait to have kids until we were both ready, and not be pressured into it.  (I get asked about twice a week, from whoever, when we are going to have kids, so I respond "not anytime soon" or "when I'm 40".  People asked us even before we got married. Pull up on those reins, people!  One step at a time!). So, near the end of April, our baby mission began.  

I honestly wasn't really sure how long it would take , because you never really know (maybe we would be one of those that doesn't get pregnant for years).  I also went through some roller coaster of emotions like "what if we aren't able to have kids", "my mothers a twin, what if I have twins, triplets!", etc.  (Yes, yes,I know, I think too much, but twins are a scary thing! Lol)

Near the end of June I started having the feeling that I might be pregnant, so my loving favorite husband (don't worry, I only have one husband, he wins the "favorite" award by default, lol) decided to pick up a test.  I was getting ready to spend the weekend at some concerts, and if I was, my plans were going to have to be slightly altered :). So I took a test that Thursday night, and it came back negative.   

So, I returned from my weekend away.  Had a great time, was super busy at work, and was trying to get ready to be away for the 4th of July holiday and vacation.  My body doesn't follow any rules when it comes to "shark week" (as my friends and I like to call it).  But I was still in my zone of "shouldn't be concerned".

So on the morning of July 6th, I was up around 3am trying to get ready so we could jump on a plane at 6am and head to the beach.  I don't know what made me decide to take a test that morning, but something did.  So at 3:30, I took one and jumped in the shower really quick.  

I had the surprise of my life when I got out.  (I was only slightly freaking out, questioning if it really said what I thought it did).  So I hurry up and finish and go lean over the bed where Jay was sleeping.  In my softest voice I say "jay, jay, I took a pregnancy test and it came out positive, you have to come look to make sure I'm not seeing things". I think he was 80% asleep still because there really was no reaction, but "uhhhmmm" (And just for the record, he never went back to look at it.) 

We weren't really able to talk between ourselves much over the next week, because we were on vacation with all my family.  Just little pieces here and there.  We did use a little online calculator to determine we were about 4-ish weeks along, and should be due March 10th (oh great!  The middle of audit time...not intentional.)

So there you have it!  Im probably not going to forget being up at the crack of dawn, getting ready to board a plane and finding that out!  We are super excited to start our family (and I'm really excited to decorate and shop, lol). Here's to a happy, healthy baby!

Us on the plane after we found out (that's  Jay's excited face, lol)

Love,
Jay, Jenna & "Baby Corbie"