Happy 21 weeks, baby girl! You are about the size of a pomegranate, and are a lady on the move every night when I lay down. You have only hurt your father's feelings a couple of times, because you stop kicking when he comes to check it out. I have to remind him that you will continue for the next 19 weeks, and you are not quite a black belt, yet. :)
So, we have been doing a lot of work lately on the nursery, getting it all decked out for a baby girl. (Because every princess needs a princess pad, right?!?)
I will admit, room decorating is one of my most favorite things, because I get to tap into my creative side. I love planning, painting, mixing patterns, sewing....love. it. I mean....I was really looking forward to this extreme makeover - nursery edition. I did a lot of researching, planning, pinteresting, and....convincing Jay.
One of the few things I had to convince Jay of was....stripes...horizontal stripes. Now, I will say that Jay is usually very good about letting me work my "decorative magic". Maybe he has learned over the last seven years that it's not worth the struggle, or maybe he is just a guy and doesn't care. At any rate, these stripes were not something that he was signing up for.
Up until the stripes, this was quite possibly the easiest approval processes ever. I asked to purchase and overstuffed glider...."sure". I asked to get the crib I liked...."if that's the one you like, I'm good with it". I even asked to paint the closet pink...."ok". But when it came down to those little horizontal stripes..."no, heck no". I even tried batting my eyelashes....and still....."no".
I don't know what made Jay finally change his mind, but after 4+ weeks, he caved. And while the nursery is still a work in progress, here are a few photos of our striping process. (I know it's hard to tell, but we did a light gray, with a shade darker for stripes)
Here are Jay and Otis, hard at work:
Beautiful! More pictures to come as we continue making progress on a pad fit for a princess!
Love,
Jay, Jenna and Baby Girl Corbie
Thursday, October 31, 2013
Thursday, October 24, 2013
Week 20 - The Closet Makeover at Halfway Point
Halfway there folks! 20-ish weeks left until we meet our little lady!
So I know I have said it before, but I have avoided maternity clothes like the plague. I'm pretty sure most pregnant women have felt my pain. When you aren't exactly feeling like a Victoria Secret model, however you aren't yet "large and in charge", the last thing you want is stretchy, belted maternity tents & pants.
And, I have had a few females tell me...."Oh, maternity clothes are so cute" or "They are always cuter when I'm not pregnant". Let me clear this up in case there is any confusion, lol: Maternity clothes will always be cuter when you don't have wear them. When your body starts expanding in to unknown territories, something in your brain flips, and you won't feel the same that you once did. The same outfit that was "oh so cute for her bump" suddenly because "frumpy and oh so unflattering".
I also have a problem with the cost of these items of clothing. *uh, I don't really want to wear these anyways, so please tell me why I would want to spend $40 per shirt* It can honestly be a longer than normal tank and the price will go from $12 in a normal store to $30 because it was all of a sudden found in the maternity section. It's like buying $4.00/gallon fuel...
So, since I work in an office that requires you to wear company shirts if you want to wear jeans, I started to do some browsing. (I knew my small work polos' time was ticking.) I found some really great deals on items that aren't that bad (not great, but not that bad). I have to wear business casual 4 days a week and I can wear jeans come Friday. After extensive research, I broke down and purchased items from: Pink Blush, Motherhood Store, and Kohls. I managed to get 5 tanks, 2 shirts, 3 cardigans, 2 pairs of jeans, 1 pair of black pants and 3 tunics. I think I ended up spending $350, and that may seem like a lot, but do some browsing and you will see how quickly it adds up.
So I'm set! I ordered mostly size medium which should last me the rest of the way (some are really big on me). I'm slowly starting to accept the idea of this change in my wardrobe options :) Check out one of my outfits below!
So I know I have said it before, but I have avoided maternity clothes like the plague. I'm pretty sure most pregnant women have felt my pain. When you aren't exactly feeling like a Victoria Secret model, however you aren't yet "large and in charge", the last thing you want is stretchy, belted maternity tents & pants.
And, I have had a few females tell me...."Oh, maternity clothes are so cute" or "They are always cuter when I'm not pregnant". Let me clear this up in case there is any confusion, lol: Maternity clothes will always be cuter when you don't have wear them. When your body starts expanding in to unknown territories, something in your brain flips, and you won't feel the same that you once did. The same outfit that was "oh so cute for her bump" suddenly because "frumpy and oh so unflattering".
I also have a problem with the cost of these items of clothing. *uh, I don't really want to wear these anyways, so please tell me why I would want to spend $40 per shirt* It can honestly be a longer than normal tank and the price will go from $12 in a normal store to $30 because it was all of a sudden found in the maternity section. It's like buying $4.00/gallon fuel...
So, since I work in an office that requires you to wear company shirts if you want to wear jeans, I started to do some browsing. (I knew my small work polos' time was ticking.) I found some really great deals on items that aren't that bad (not great, but not that bad). I have to wear business casual 4 days a week and I can wear jeans come Friday. After extensive research, I broke down and purchased items from: Pink Blush, Motherhood Store, and Kohls. I managed to get 5 tanks, 2 shirts, 3 cardigans, 2 pairs of jeans, 1 pair of black pants and 3 tunics. I think I ended up spending $350, and that may seem like a lot, but do some browsing and you will see how quickly it adds up.
So I'm set! I ordered mostly size medium which should last me the rest of the way (some are really big on me). I'm slowly starting to accept the idea of this change in my wardrobe options :) Check out one of my outfits below!
Monday, October 21, 2013
Week 19 (con't) - Miss or Mister....
It's the moment that most of you have been waiting for :)
Week 19 means sonogram, so Tuesday morning we headed over to the doctor. Our appointment was at 9, so after chugging 32 oz of water in one hour as requested, let's just say my bladder was definitely full. And to make matters worse, my OB was getting ready to head over to a delivery, so I had to have my checkup BEFORE my sono . (Which was like my worst full bladder nightmare,lol). Her first question to me was "How are you feeling!?" And my quick response was "I have to pee".
So she checked the heartbeat, and then confirmed that we would be finding out the gender. (Um... Of course!!! I'm dying to know!!!). She gave her guess based on the heartbeat: a girl. She told us she would be excited to come back after her delivery to find out if she was right.
So I finally reach my sonogram, which was about 30-45 minutes after I thought I would get to have it. Got set up, and we were good to go.
Now, I will say this, I knew the gender before the tech told us. She went to take a picture of its thigh bone for some measurement, and the goods are pretty much in the same general vacinity. (A lot of my friends have babes, not the first sonogram I have seen). I didn't say anything...and the tech kept measuring away. She finally got to the gender, and.....
"IT'S A GIRL!!!!!!!!!!!"
I was so excited! I can't wait to sew up some ruffles, lace and fru-fru. ACTUALLY, I'm most excited about buying a baby bikini, but those are a little hard to find right now.
We sent/delivered our news to our close family & friends. (Actually, that is the reason for the delay in this post...we had to make sure they got them!). We put pink baby themed confetti into a card I made, that on the front said "It's a....", and in the inside we wrote "GIRL". (I made up the cards a couple weeks or so ago, and had purchased both pink and blue confetti and pens, so we could adjust based on what we discovered at the sono. Everyone was so surprised!
So....Let the shopping begin!! (And wish our checking account some luck, because it's going to need it!)
Love,
Love,
Jay, Jenna & Baby Girl Corbie
Sunday, October 13, 2013
Monday, October 7, 2013
Week 18 - The Predictions
With only about a week left before we find out if Baby Corbie is a Lil Lady vs a Lil Guy, we decided to do something fun. There are only about a million and half predictors out there to "determine" whether your baby is a girl or boy, so we decided to put them to the test. With our overwhelming findings, we are either about to prove all them old wives right, or very, very wrong.
Now, time to clarify the "ties". I'm not really showing that much, so it's a little hard to determine if my little bump is high or low. Grandma Corbett even said just yesterday, that she was going to take a pregnant photo of me, but I'm not showing enough. (We have postponed the photo for a little while.) Also, on the dad's weight predictor, I don't make Jay weigh in, so we have no idea if he has packed it on or not. I would go ahead and say he has stayed the same. Due to the physical activity required with his job, and apparently an amazing metabolism, it's pretty rare for him to pack it on. Therefore, we have gone neutral and called it a tie.
I also have a predictor board going at work, which has proven to be less overwhelming in one gender's favor:
Now, time to clarify the "ties". I'm not really showing that much, so it's a little hard to determine if my little bump is high or low. Grandma Corbett even said just yesterday, that she was going to take a pregnant photo of me, but I'm not showing enough. (We have postponed the photo for a little while.) Also, on the dad's weight predictor, I don't make Jay weigh in, so we have no idea if he has packed it on or not. I would go ahead and say he has stayed the same. Due to the physical activity required with his job, and apparently an amazing metabolism, it's pretty rare for him to pack it on. Therefore, we have gone neutral and called it a tie.
I also have a predictor board going at work, which has proven to be less overwhelming in one gender's favor:
I need to take a new picture, because I have had a few more people submit guesses. I think my current count is 16 (girl) vs 16 (boy).
*Notice how the "x2" is crossed out. My GM at work (who has twin boys) rather than place his guess, was convinced I was going to have twins. Once it was determined that I was not, I politely crossed through his "x2" as not to mislead and future predictors, lol.*
About 8 more days, and we shall know!!! (Jay says that may be the time that he may have to start looking for a 2nd and 3rd job)
Love,
Jay, Jenna and Baby Corbie
*Notice how the "x2" is crossed out. My GM at work (who has twin boys) rather than place his guess, was convinced I was going to have twins. Once it was determined that I was not, I politely crossed through his "x2" as not to mislead and future predictors, lol.*
About 8 more days, and we shall know!!! (Jay says that may be the time that he may have to start looking for a 2nd and 3rd job)
Love,
Jay, Jenna and Baby Corbie
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)







