CLICK HERE FOR FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES, LINK BUTTONS AND MORE! »

Monday, March 24, 2014

Hospital Stay

Tenleigh had many visitors and was welcomed with so much love and showered with gifts .  Here are a few pictures of her visitors.

with her Pawpaw Jim


with Nana Kathy

With Uncle Eric


with Grandma Jeanie


with Grandpa Jim and Aunt Kara



Proud little auntie :)


with Grandpa Jim
with Aunt Chelsea
with Kaeson

with Aunt Tiffani

Thanks Aunt Tiff!

Thanks Uncle Eric!


Thank You to the RedGuard crew!

Thanks Tim & Tara!

1 Week Old

Um.... I can't believe that a week ago I was in the hospital.  Whaaa!?

I compare her newborn pictures from the hospital from when she was just hours old, to her today, and babies grow sooo fast.

She had her one week check up 
today.  She did so good.  She was awake and alert the whole time but never cried.  She has gained 6 ounces from the time that we left the hospital.

She will go back in about a week to be checked again.  They are mostly making sure that she is gaining weight like she is supposed to.  Hopefully our next appointment will go as great as today's appointment.

We have been adjusting well at home.  She does a lot of eating and sleeping.  We also discovered our little lady loves bath time. Here is a pic of her first bath.

We have also had a lot of visitors over the last week.  Here are a few 





Please meet....


Week 41 - Our Birth Story

Lets rewind a bit to our nonstress test.  Our nonstress test came back great. She is just real cozy in there, handling contractions well.  I had a few contractions while we were there, nothing painful.  It felt like a little bit of pressure in my belly, kinda like she was shifting around.  So maybe I have had a few more contractions than I thought.  At any rate, after 20 minutes on the monitor, kicking back in a comfy chair, drinking some apple juice....we made our appointment for 41 weeks and headed home.

I was actually pretty frustrated with having to make that appointment.  Our Dr. was completely right, there is something in your brain that shifts once you go a few days past your due date.  She described it as "say you tell a child that Christmas is 6 months away.  Then that six months comes and you tell them 'just kidding a few more days'".  That, my friends, was spot on.  1-2 days past my due date....no biggie.  5-6 days past.... Done.  Done.  Done.  Your closet presents even fewer options than before.  You only receive a text, email, or phone call once every other hour asking if you have had the baby, (Which I know are sent with great intentions, and excitement, and anxiousness) which only reminds you...that in fact, you are still preggs and have no control over that situation.

I had a smidge of a breakdown on Sunday.  Maybe two minutes of intermittent tears.  I knew I was going to have to be induced and that meant I wasn't going to be able to have her at the, more convenient, Birth Care Center.  I was uncomfortable, constantly had to have my feet up to be able to beat any swelling, so I felt pinned to the couch (which is not good for a busy body). I had been working from home, so I had cabin fever.  I was bored...my clothes weren't fitting.  You name it, I was there.  

So we had an appointment at 12:20 on Monday March 17th.  We knew that we would be setting an induction date because little lady was headed nowhere fast :). So when we still weren't making any process when we were checked, wasn't much of a shocker :)  Dr. Taylor said "so do you want to have her tomorrow, tonight, 3 days ago?"  Um.... Yes.  So she called the hospital to see if we could come in at 7 to get the process started, getting my cervix ready, then start induction in the morning.

Here I am at 41 weeks... right before we headed to the hospital



We checked in, got hooked up.  I had to have a foley bulb put in, which I expected to be much more painful than it was.  (Google with caution, lol, it may freak you out a bit, or at least it did me)  We played phase 10 in between contractions.  Which were really fun at first *sarcasm* but got better.  At first I thought I was going to have to ask for pain meds like 20 min after they put it in.  They did warn me that it could cause cramping.  Either I got used to it or something, because I didn't get worse, and I was actually able to handle the cramping that it brought with it.    

I slept for a couple hours through the night.  At 5 am, they started me on Potocin to get my contractions going.  I was able to sleep the first two hours after they started the process.  I expected there to be intense contractions right away, but was pleasantly surprised by how manageable they were.

We had an awesome nurse named Hang, who was so great about telling us exactly what she was monitoring, what was good and what wasn't.  She would explain why she was having me do certain things, and what medicines she was putting in me, or any increase in dosages, and what to expect.  We didn't even have to ask.  She never did anything without explaining it.  Awesome.  I pretty much need to send her a Thank You note for making our experience so wonderful.

At 8:34 am, my OB came in and she broke my water.  Weird/painful experience.  Painful only because they have to make sure they can get to where they need to be, and when you aren't fully dilated, they have to try harder (catch my drift?!? ;) )  I was dilated to 4.  The OB couldn't believe I didn't have an epidural yet.  But honestly, the contractions weren't that bad.  The worst part was when they would check on my progress.  

I got an epidural around 10 am when I was 5 cm dilated.  At that point my contractions were getting to be pretty intense.  On the pain chart I would say around a 6 (which they have labeled as severe pain).  It was enough to have Jay ask me whether I was ready for one.  I was able to breathe through them, however I knew if it got much worse, I may not be able to hold still to receive one.  

Now a little bit about this epidural.  I was a little nervous to get it, after watching the video in our birthing class, they said it burned when they injected medicine to numb your skin and the area.  And I remember the lady in the video complaining about the burning sensation.  Well, either I have a high tolerance for pain, or I found the worlds greatest anesthesiologist.  I felt a pinch when they numbed me, and I didn't feel anything else.  They kept asking me "you didn't feel that!?!?"  Nope.  Not. A. Thing.  And I tell you what.... That epidural was the best decision.  I went from a pain level 5 or 6 to like a zero.  Awesome.

I got checked around 11 am (even being checked is better with an epidural, because the checks may be more painful than a contraction, it just doesn't last as long) I was at a 6 or 7.  The nurse said 6 outter/7 inner.  The resident that checked me said 7.  

Have I mentioned that epidural are awesome?  I would also like to give a huge shout out to those ladies brave enough to do it without an epidural.  You, my friends, are a million times tougher than I will ever be.  I felt like I was handling everything pretty well, but I wanted to be able to enjoy part of my experience, and at 5 cm, it was no longer enjoyable, and I was only halfway to full dilation.

I had to have an internal contraction monitor places, because I wasn't moving from a 7, but the monitor on my belly was showing decent contractions.  The internal one is much more accurate.  So I got it put in and they determined I needed more Potocin.  I stayed at a 7 until 5:30 where I measured an 8-9.

And then something fun happened.  Baby girl became asynclitic (the head of the baby is down but is tilted toward the shoulder, causing the head to no longer be in line with the birth canal).  I had to have a sonogram just to make sure that it was in fact her head and not a butt, because the resident said that it just didn't feel right.  So instead of taking the chance of trying to push out a breech baby, a quick sonogram confirmed that it was in fact a head.  So in order to try and fix this, I had to flip in the bed from side to side about every 20 minutes.

At 7:30, and 2 hours at 8-9 cm, and still asynclitic, it was determined that I would have to have a c-section.  After 24 hours in labor, I didn't care what I had to do to get her out of me.  They told me and the resident said "wow, you took that well, normally that is when the tears come."  I was just so ready to be done.  AND...I'm an accountant, not a doctor.  I'm not going to argue with you if you tell me she won't come out the way she is positioned.  We have officially stepped out of my arena and into yours :)  You tell me what needs to be done, and we will do it.

I went back for my c-section at 8 pm.  They got me all prepped, and said it would take 5-10 minutes to get her out.  They started the surgery at 8:07 and at 8:13 she was born.  She was perfection and it was definitely love at first sight.  She was a lot bigger than we anticipated, and my OB said there was a good chance that because of her size, we would have had to have a c-section anyways, probably after an hour of pushing.

So after 41 weeks and 1 day, over a day of labor, and one surgery later, please meet....

Tenleigh Kayte
8 pounds 14 ounces
20 inches
March 18th, 8:13 pm.  





Thursday, March 13, 2014

Week 40 - And still no babe...

This past due stuff is for the birds... :)

I think we have been down the entire list of things that may induce labor.  And for the record, I am unwilling to drink caster oil.  That sounds awful.  But eating pineapple, spicy foods, acupressure, etc...been there, done that, and she apparently doesn't get the hint, lol.

I have been working from home all week.  I am very thankful that I have a job that allows me to do that, because I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be handling this past due stuff and well as I am, if I wasn't.  I usually get a lot done when I am at home, because I can focus and not have to worry about being interrupted.  So...win,win.

And to take our mind off things, I have made a couple crafty things and decorated for spring.  Jay even participated by helping organize the storage under our steps.  I have also been practicing taking some photos to get ready to take entirely too many photos of our little lady.  Otis got volunteered today.  Otis is a way better model than Benjamin, because Benjamin has A.D.D.  The only time she is willing to sit still for a photo is when she is sleeping, or is being offered a treat *maybe*.  Here is Otis' glamour shot...


Tomorrow we go in for our non-stress test, since we have made it past 40 weeks.  We also will have an appointment Monday and will set an induction date.  Lets go ahead and cross our fingers that she comes out on her own free will :)

Love,
Jay, Jenna and Stubborn Baby Girl Corbie :)

Sunday, March 9, 2014

Week 39 - Laundry and Date Night

Happy 39 weeks!  Holy. I can't believe how close we are to due date!  I know I say that most weeks, but when I think back about when we first found out, it seemed like forever until this point.  Hopefully she understands how many great things are waiting for her on the outside, and doesn't get too comfortable in there.  (Your mother will appreciate that baby girl)

We went through this week and washed all our newborn clothing, blankets, sheets, etc.  Jay has helped getting some of her stuff ready for her by running the laundry and even hand washing a few items.  (Such a domestic, lol)  We were laughing at how tiny baby jeggings are.  So we did a side by side with his sock.  And yes, every little lady should own some jeggings :)


This week, we also decided to have a date night, since, soon enough, it will be a little harder for us to just up and decide to head out for dinner.  Although, I'm sure there will be more than a few individuals that would be more than happy to love on her while we went out for dinner.  We decided to hit up Jersey's since Jay had never been there.  And we both love fried pickles, as they just so happen to have them there :)


And since Jay loves his picture taken, this is the most he would cooperate.  (I hope he doesn't fight pictures like this with his daughter, 😊)


And with a week or so left, we figured it would be safe to personalize a few things.  So I made her a beanie with her name and we also made her name sign for behind her crib.  Neither have been displayed, of course, but they are ready to go.  I think everyone is beyond ready to find out what her name is, and I'm excited not to have to keep this secret any longer (and potentially spill it on accident!)

And now we wait.  We have *hopefully* our last appointment on Monday.  I believe we will be setting an induction date just in case we may need it.  (Hopefully we won't)

Love, 
Jay, Jenna and baby girl Corbie 

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Week 38 - The End in Sight

We have had a week full of surprises, long work hours, and quite possibly anything that could have happened....did.

Besides getting into all the details, I'll share the final "event" of the week.  On Saturday, in the middle of some lovely Kansas weather (65 degrees one day, ice the next), we had to make an emergency trip to the Vet.  We had noticed that Benjamin had not been acting like herself for a couple days.  Usually, she thinks she owns half our bed at night, and she didn't come upstairs for a whole day.  She kept to herself, didn't want to play, and was very cranky if you would pet her near the base of her tail (which she usually loves).  I was becoming very worried about her.

So, Jay decided to bring her upstairs. She went into the nursery and hid under the crib.  About an hour later, he found her under the crib, bleeding near her butt.  So we called our vet, and got no answer.  We decided to take her to the emergency vet clinic. So in the middle of ice, freezing rain, and occasionally snow, Jay and Benjamin headed to the kitty ER.

She must have been in a decent amount of pain, because usually she fights it more than she did.  They did have to sedate her, however she did so well in comparison to how she normally does.  So about and hour and a half later,  a few medications and a shaved backside... Benjamin returned.  She was diagnosed with a burst gland.  We are just happy it wasn't anything more serious.

I was most happy that I didn't go into labor this weekend.  We had to keep an eye on Benjamin all weekend.  Jay gave her all the attention that she requested (and I'm pretty sure she played it up a bit).  If we would have had to go to the hospital, I'm not sure how we would have worked that.  After the week we had, I couldn't take much more at that point.

Speaking of the babe, she is, according to my doctor, "happy as a little clam in there".  I am currently dilated to a 1.  We discussed induction with her.  If my body is ready, we could be induced as soon as 39 weeks and as late as 41 weeks.  She said she would not let me go to 42 (unless I was dead set on it...which I'm not :) ) She said the closer you get to 42 weeks, it makes her nervous because your placenta is aging, the babies are a lot bigger, etc.  I'm totally okay with not having to go 2 weeks over.  

So I guess that means that the end is in sight!  We shouldn't have to wait much past the 17th, if at all.  Maybe we will have a St. Patty's Day babe!  We are so excited to meet our baby girl :)

Love,
Jay, Jenna and Baby Girl Corbie