So here is the deal... I used to hate guacamole. HATE it. I didn't really like avocados, either. Couldn't understand what all the hype was about. They tasted bland. I might have even referred to it as baby poo. The list goes on...
So a few months back, our HR lady at work made guacamole for a quarterly sales meeting. I tried some because I was starving and, honestly, I will eat things I don't like just to solidify the fact that I still don't like them (hey, taste buds can change, right?!?!). Oh, and then everyone wouldn't stop talking about how amazing it was. Curiosity set in my friends, and there was no looking back.
So this is when my world changed for the better. Something amazing happened. Either it was laced with crack, or this woman really knew what she is doing when it came to guacamole, but I LOVED it. Like.... went back 4 trips... loved it. And, it didn't stop there. I have been randomly making subtle suggestions for her to bring it again (well I guess "you should make us guacamole" isn't really all that subtle).
I think she finally got tired of me asking for her to bring it, or asking for a cooking lesson over lunch. So Tuesday.....Drumroll please......she gave me her recipe.
It was like a 'Warren Buffet sharing his magical investment formula' kind of moment. And, now I will share it with you. But here is my warning.... this isn't really an exact science. There are a few 'little of this, little of that'. You may need to be a little adventurous. Here goes nothing:
Salsa part:
3 roasted Roma tomatoes
1 roasted jalapeño
( Like roll them around in a pan until the outsides start to turn black)
Fresh cilantro
1/4-1/8 onion
Clove of garlic
Salt and pepper
Place that in a food processor/blender and let it work its magic. Leave it a bit chunky.
Step 2:
2 avacados
Juice from half a lime
Garlic powder (1/4 - 1/2 tsp)
Onion powder (1/4 - 1/2 tsp)
Some salsa
Salt
Mash peeled avocados with a fork, and stir the rest of the items in. That's it. I played around with the seasoning until I got it just right (mostly salt and garlic powder), but it was so easy (and did I mention wonderful?!?). That's all I had for dinner tonight. And in case you are a visual recipe hunter....a photo:


0 comments:
Post a Comment