Another reason why we have decided not to share it, is that I happen to know quite a few babies being born in a short amount of time. And not that I have a ton of close friends or relatives having children right now, I have heard stories about the use of names by others (friends, family, etc), stealing name, openly sharing that they hate the name. It all sounds pretty dramatic and I honestly would rather just stay out of that arena.
We decided not to even share initials just because my friends are pretty intelligent, and know me pretty well. I don't think it would take them too long to figure it out. (Honestly, I would say 30 minutes or less.) And then I'm a bad liar, so if they did guess it, it would be difficult to convince them that wasn't her name.
So let's rewind a bit.....When we started on this baby name adventure, Jay and I only sorted through 3,000+ names, to settle on one about 3-4 months ago (and that's not an exaggeration) Oddly enough, it was one of the very first names I threw out there, that Jay really liked. Then we proceeded to sort through the remaining 3,000 + just to be confident. :) I mean, they will have this name the rest of their life, so we had to make sure that we loved it (and that we could yell it when she gets in trouble, lol)
Then came our struggle with spelling. Apparently, there are only about 100 ways to spell the name that we have chosen. We went back and forth for the better part of a month trying to decide. We have since settled on spelling. And, as of today, I'm pretty sure we are done with that mess. (That's the trouble with not being able to get things personalized yet, you always have the ability to change your mind :) )
And last decision, her middle name. The middle name was easy for us. Go figure. Spelling was easy, selection was easy. I had a middle name picked out way before we decided on a first name. And while the first name is a name that we both love, the middle name has a bit more meaning behind it, both the actual name and the spelling. Maybe that's why it was so much easier?!? :)
So, as all these babies are starting to be born, every time I hear "It's a girl!", I take a few moments to check the name, just because I'm curious. So far, no one has chosen the name we have picked. It's not that I would care if my child had the same name as someone else, that's not it at all. I just don't want someone thinking I stole their name, or I don't want them to be offended that we decided on the same one. (I personally think that would only mean we BOTH have great taste in names :) )
(Also, I will point out that I am totally in touch with reality when it comes to naming, and realize that there will be others who share our baby girl's name. It's a part of life. I mean, I know quite a few Jenna's. All of which are fantastic :) )
So like I said, our name secret has survived. I have somehow managed to not spill the beans, even though I have been close a handful of times. (The closest at my baby shower, when asked by a 4 or 5 year old. I think it was because she so innocently asked...I was off my game, lesson learned, lol) I have also almost revealed her first initial about 100 times. That's what happens when you refer to Baby Corbie as "Baby _(first initial here)__" when you are at home. It becomes so natural, you almost don't realize what you are doing when you say it.
So like I said, our name secret has survived. I have somehow managed to not spill the beans, even though I have been close a handful of times. (The closest at my baby shower, when asked by a 4 or 5 year old. I think it was because she so innocently asked...I was off my game, lesson learned, lol) I have also almost revealed her first initial about 100 times. That's what happens when you refer to Baby Corbie as "Baby _(first initial here)__" when you are at home. It becomes so natural, you almost don't realize what you are doing when you say it.
So there you have it... 45-ish more days and our secret shall be revealed!
Love,
Jay, Jenna and Baby Corbie

0 comments:
Post a Comment